Ben Lantow on 19 Jan, 2021 04:24 PM
The "password" option is being deprecated, we're transitioning away from that method of map management for a variety of reasons. For backwards compatibility reasons the option to create a write password still exists though we plan to remove the ability to create additional maps with write passwords soon. We've replaced this sharing model with the Secret access level. Secret maps can only be accessed with a special URL that you control access to, the URL is long enough that guessing/finding the URL would be extremely difficult. Those special URLs also grant a variety of access levels (Read, Update, Write). It's very similar to Google Docs sharing strategies.
URL maps are public maps, if you were to guess the 4 digit URL or click on a link that has that URL you will be able to access that map. Secret sharing adds a "passcode" onto the URL that you control access to. You can share that longer URL but also remove the URL if you no longer want to share the map (though users who bookmarked the map will retain access).