Maps missing from our account

task's Avatar

task

19 Sep, 2021 09:27 PM

Greetings,
this weekend we were doing Search management training for our SAR group, and had a glitch occur with our login to the SARTopo.com site with our main task account. It started showing our main [email blocked] login as one of our manager's personal SAR account.
After login everyone out of SARTopo, then logging back in with our task account, ALL our saved maps had disappeared from the "Your Data" area.
Since we have SARTopo Desktop on our SAR Command Computer for use when we are out of Internet range (just about every search we do) I ran the latest Desktop Update and then connected to the local server with our task account. Our maps were still in the offline version on the command vehicle so I tried to sync them all again to our online account. They do not appear in the Online "Your Data" section.

Can you help us resolve this vexing issue? It's important that we are are able to revisit previous search maps to determine previous search areas and responses.

Thank you,

Dewi Griffiths
Search Manager
Cowichan Search and Rescue.

  1. Support Staff 1 Posted by Julie on 20 Sep, 2021 04:17 PM

    Julie's Avatar

    Hi Dewi,

    What likely happened here is that the manager used the "add alternate login" feature which combines two accounts into one. The "task" account became part of that person's account and joined all the maps into one. It sounds like that person then removed the alternate login, which detached the two accounts from each other, but the program will keep all the maps in whichever account was designated as primary when the accounts were combined.

    If the manager who combined accounts previously before later disconnecting them repeats the same process, but setting the task account as the primary when combining them, then again disconnects them, the maps should be returned to the task-email account. However, any personal maps the user has will go to the task account as well. This can be overcome by downloading GeoJSON files of each personal map to the users computer, removing them from the online account, and then importing those files to new maps once the merge/unmerge has been completed.

    Another thing you could do (and this would also solve this issue for the future) is to purchase a team account. Team accounts allow users to move maps between their personal account buckets and team account buckets easily. Then the team can own the map instead of an individual user. Each user then logs in as themselves but has access to the team maps.

    We offer team accounts ranging in size from 5 to 100+ users and starting at $250/year. We do recommend purchasing enough licenses to cover all the members on your team in order to get full functionality. To learn more about the features and pricing of our team accounts, please visit our SARTopo Team Accounts page.

    Our team accounts offer a number of features that set them apart from individual accounts and make them a better choice for organizations such as yours, including:

    • Collaborative workspace: Any member of a team can view maps and layers saved to the team account. Edits will appear in real-time for anyone on the team with a data connection.
    • Live Tracking and Team Member Locators: Real-time location and route tracking of team members. Extremely helpful for organizations that need to monitor individuals/teams in the field.
    • Events: Events are temporary groups created for a specific large-scale event lasting up to 14 days. Events can include both team members and invited users from outside the team. They allow you to instantly scale to accommodate volunteers and other outside organization for large incidents.

    If you want to learn more, make sure to check out our Team Accounts page on our training site.

    We also have a public SARTopo demo team account available for testing out the team features. If you would like to check it out, please let us know and we can pass along access information.

    Thanks,
    Julie

Reply to this discussion

Internal reply

Formatting help / Preview (switch to plain text) No formatting (switch to Markdown)

Attaching KB article:

»

Attached Files

You can attach files up to 10MB

If you don't have an account yet, we need to confirm you're human and not a machine trying to post spam.

Keyboard shortcuts

Generic

? Show this help
ESC Blurs the current field

Comment Form

r Focus the comment reply box
^ + ↩ Submit the comment

You can use Command ⌘ instead of Control ^ on Mac