Laying out trail to grade

JIm Chance

22 Mar, 2020 10:34 PM

Hi,
I am new to this software which I am using to lay out trails. One restriction we have is a limit on the slope of the trail to limit erosion.. We generally have to limit ourselves to 12% (IE, up or down 12' over 100') but are allowed short sections of steeper trail. I am having a hard time doing this. Is there a way to show the slope of a line segment, preferably in real time? I am currently trying to judge delta z with the contours and watching the line length change. For example, I try to add at least 400' to a line between 40' contours to get a 10% slope. It is awkward and my results are not very good.

Has anybody found an easy way to do this?

Jimmy

1. Support Staff 1 Posted by Ben Lantow on 22 Mar, 2020 11:00 PM

There's no way to see a slope in real time unfortunately. I can't think of a better way to do this but maybe one of the other users may have an idea. You could also make a number of short lines and assess each one individually but that sounds potentially tedious.

2. 2 Posted by JIm Chance on 22 Mar, 2020 11:44 PM

OK. I am trying to figure if I can look at the profile to easily see where I am too steep. Can I control the vertical exageration to make it easy to eyeball? Also, what does "Min" "Avg" and "Max" slope represent? Is that supposed to be the slope of the line or the slope of the ground? If you are parallel to the contours is it the side slope?

3. 3 Posted by JIm Chance on 22 Mar, 2020 11:55 PM

Further to the above, I drew two very short lines on steep slope, one parallel to the contours and one perpendicular. They had very similar slope information according to the profile. This indicates the slope reported is the slope of the terrain, not the slope along the line.

4. 4 Posted by jamesallenchanc... on 24 Mar, 2020 01:22 PM

Hi Ben,

Thanks for the reply.

Something that might be easy to implement is to be able to set a range