GPS not working for me on Android App

Shawn Wilson

02 Aug, 2021 07:00 PM

Hi, I've been a CalTOPO user for years, mostly to plan routes and print maps. This years I graduated to the mobile app for use in backcountry navigation. I paid for the basic plan to allow me to download all area map details to my Google Pixel 4a phone for use in airplane mode. I tested the app on several hikes in SF Bay Area, testing the navigation and tracking with phone in airplane mode and it worked flawlessly. Secure all was working I took phone up to the High Sierra on an 8 day cross country trip and to my chagrin the I almost never could get the caltopo to show my location and when it did show location, I could not keep it centered, it would just drop, then location button would freeze and I would have to close app and try again. I would click the centered button it would say "waiting for GPS, then after 20 secs or so drop then freeze. It worked maybe 5% of the time. This was not a problem with GPS on phone because I could always get my location using Google Maps app (too bad I didn't have a detailed map on google maps). I can't tell you how frustrating this was. Good thing we had paper maps and compass. I was really counting on the app to help with our challenging route.

1. Support Staff 1 Posted by Meghan on 02 Aug, 2021 09:51 PM

Hi Shawn,

I'm sorry to hear you were having trouble with the mobile app. What you described is not the expected behavior and we have not received any other reports of a similar issue so I would like to get a little more information about what you experienced. Specifically:

• What Android version and what version of the CalTopo mobile app do you have?
    • Can you check your phone's settings and confirm that you have location sharing with the CalTopo mobile app turned on?