Team Accounts

CalTopo and SARTopo both offer team subscriptions - unlike with individual upgrades, a team upgrade is only valid on CalTopo or SARTopo, not both.

Benefits

To begin with, all team members get access to the pro-level feature set, including plotter-sized PDFs, KML super-overlays, WMS/WMTS map access and retina/hidpi map tiles. Team subscriptions also include a site license for CalTopo/SARTopo Offline, with 2TB/yr of map downloads.

Team accounts also provide a number of customization benefits:

  • Save maps to a common team account, eliminating the need to pass URLs and passwords around for each new map.

  • Sign-in using your existing systems via OpenID Connect - no need to rely on Google/Yahoo/Microsoft/Facebook logins

  • Configure team-wide custom layers and icons

  • Self-host your own instance for data privacy reasons

  • Use"secret" map URLs to prevent shoulder-surfing from the media or other organizations.

Getting Started

To sign up for a team account, go to (http://caltopo.com/group/join) or (http://sartopo.com/group/join). The group upgrade page works similar to the individual upgrade page - enter a team name (you can change this later), click on the account level and then enter a credit card number.

group-join.png

After upgrading, click on the "Manage This Account" link to get to the team management page:

group-join-2.png

You can also get to the team management page via the account dialog on the map viewer (click on your account name on at the top of the left bar, then the "your account" tab):

group-account-dlg.png

Adding Members

Team accounts support 4 membership types:

  • Read Only members can view team maps but not modify any data. This can be a good option for members of cooperating agencies, since it lets you automatically share data but prevents them from modifying your maps, unless a password is set.

  • Write members can save new maps to the team account, and modify existing maps. This is a good level for most of your users, since it prevents them from accidentally deleting team data.

  • Managers can setup team-wide custom layers and icons, and delete maps or PDFs saved to the team account. This is a good level for power users.

  • Administrators can modify subscription and payment information, and invite or remove team members. Accounts are required to have at least two administrators for redundancy reasons.

Add members to your team by creating and sharing signup codes. Set an expiration date and a membership type, and then click "create new code":

group-admin.png

When you email a signup URL to your team members, they will see a simple signup page:

group-code.png

Working With Team Data

Saving maps to the team account is simple. If you belong to a team, the standard save dialog has a new option asking which account you want to save the map to:

group-save-map.png

The "your maps" tab of the account dialog shows personal and team maps intermixed, with a new account column listing which account the map belongs to. The list is sorted by date, so new maps created by other team members will naturally bubble to the top. A user write permissions can use the account dropdown to move a personal map into the team account; a user with manage permissions can delete team maps, or move them back to a personal account:

group-map-list.png

The same concept applies to custom icons and layers. Layers saved to the team account will show up on all members' layer dropdowns, and icons on icon pickers:

group-layer-list.png

Secret Access URLs

Maps normally have three sharing modes: private, URL and public. On sensitive incidents, one concern with URL sharing is that anyone who shoulder-surfs the URL from a search computer is able to pull the map up on their personal computer and access all the data. Secret access URLs help prevent this.

Secret access URLs are available after you've already saved a map, via the "manage this map" link in the left bar. Set the visibility to "completely private", and then click the create button next to "secret access URL":

group-secret-url-1.png

group-secret-url-2.png

If you have private a map with an id of XXXX, the secret URL will first authorize the user to read the map, and then redirect them to the standard URL of caltopo.com/m/XXXX. However, because the map is set to private, anyone who shoulder-surfs that URL and tries to go directly to it will not be able to view its contents.

This is a good way to prevent sensitive information from accidentally leaking out due to a short video clip posted on the news, or someone briefly walking through the command post.

Team Activity Page

One common use case (at least for SARTopo) is for someone to page out a link to a map or PDF to responding team members. The team activity page aims to eliminate a step in this process by making it easy to access recently created maps and PDFs, even from a mobile phone.

The team administration page includes a "Quick URLs" link that will look something like http://caltopo.com/team/your_team_abbreviation. This is only accessible to team members - if a member is not signed in, they will be shown a sign-in page first. Once signed in, this page lists the 5 most recent maps and PDFs, in chronological order:

group-team-activity.png