Revert Deleted Track

JB Benna's Avatar

JB Benna

26 Aug, 2016 10:40 PM

Hello,

I just deleted several days worth of work accidentally. I split a line, or thought I did and then hit delete to remove the section I did not want, but it deleted the whole line. Is there a way to revert to an older version or undo the accidental delete. This is enough to make me want to stop using this app, when I can accidentally destroy so much work without an apparent way to revert.

Please help.

Best,

JB

  1. Support Staff 1 Posted by matt on 27 Aug, 2016 12:49 AM

    matt's Avatar

    Hi JB -

    At the moment there is no undo / revert feature. I get your frustration, but from an engineering standpoint reliably supporting undos takes an incredible amount of work that I haven't been able to invest yet. Even though it's hosted online, I do recommend that people make semi-frequent backups when doing extensive changes, via Export -> Download CalTopo Backup.

    That said, I can recover important information from my nightly site backups if needed and I have the map ID, but it's fairly labor intensive for me to do so.

    • Matt
  2. 2 Posted by JB Benna on 27 Aug, 2016 01:42 AM

    JB Benna's Avatar

    If possible that would be great, I put so much time into that.

    Thanks so much,

    JB

  3. 3 Posted by JB Benna on 27 Aug, 2016 02:18 PM

    JB Benna's Avatar

    Actually, if you have not already done so I will just rebuild it. If I understand you correctly, it would only be a backup from the previous night, and all the work I did yesterday would be lost anyway. At that point, I will just rebuild the map and not take up your time.

    Best,

    JB

  4. Support Staff 4 Posted by matt on 27 Aug, 2016 03:42 PM

    matt's Avatar

    Correct, sorry, I can only restore from nightly backups - anything done that day is lost.

  5. 5 Posted by Victor on 17 Aug, 2019 11:50 PM

    Victor's Avatar

    Hey Matt,

    Just did the same thing, deleted my track trying to end it. Not straight forward.

    What about adding a second verification of delete? Highlight in the dialogue box that hitting yes will delete the track permanently?

  6. Support Staff 6 Posted by matt on 20 Aug, 2019 04:25 AM

    matt's Avatar

    Can you clarify which dialog you're referring to? Is this finishing a track recording inside the app?

  7. 7 Posted by V S on 20 Aug, 2019 11:06 AM

    V S's Avatar

    Matt,
    Incorrectly replied to a forum discussion. Apologize for the inconvenience. Victor

    Sent from Yahoo Mail for iPhone

    On Tuesday, August 20, 2019, 00:25, matt <[email blocked]> wrote:

     #yiv8003345192 pre {width:92%;margin:10px 2%;padding:5px 2%;background:#efefef;border:1px solid #d6d6d6;}#yiv8003345192 blockquote {margin-left:0;padding-left:1em;border-left:5px solid #ccc;}
    |

  8. rmarcucci closed this discussion on 20 Aug, 2019 03:14 PM.

Comments are currently closed for this discussion. You can start a new one.

Keyboard shortcuts

Generic

? Show this help
ESC Blurs the current field

Comment Form

r Focus the comment reply box
^ + ↩ Submit the comment

You can use Command ⌘ instead of Control ^ on Mac