Feature request: two additions to the Config menu

Teresa G's Avatar

Teresa G

19 Sep, 2016 12:14 AM

1. Allow each user to determine for their account if they want the "Check/Uncheck All" box checked by default, or unchecked by default, for Exporting.

2. Allow each user to determine for their account if they want the "Show Overview Page" box checked by default, or unchecked by default, when printing to a PDF.

  1. Support Staff 1 Posted by matt on 09 Nov, 2016 09:43 AM

    matt's Avatar

    After giving it some more thought, I'm not sure retaining the export settings make sense - and it's a single click to change - but a number of print page settings are now retained, including whether or not the user checked the "show overview page" checkbox. It's not an explicit customization but your last choice will be preserved on the next page visit.

  2. matt closed this discussion on 09 Nov, 2016 09:43 AM.

  3. Teresa Gergen re-opened this discussion on 09 Nov, 2016 03:20 PM

  4. 2 Posted by Teresa Gergen on 09 Nov, 2016 03:20 PM

    Teresa Gergen's Avatar

    Printing:

    Thanks, this works for me.

    Exporting:

    I generally have one map for each state that I plan out routes/trips in. The map can have on the order of hundreds of lines and markers. When it's time to actually go do a specific trip, I only want to export the ones relevant to that trip, say maybe 10-20 lines. The way it is, I have to scroll back to the top of a long Export window to unclick the Check/Uncheck All box, then scroll back down to the green-highlighted section of lines that I'm trying to export, in between each export of the 10-20 exports I want to do during this session.

    Handling it the same way you just did for Printing would be great - retain the user's previous selection as to whether or not the Check/Uncheck All box is checked.

    ________________________________

  5. Support Staff 3 Posted by matt on 09 Nov, 2016 05:23 PM

    matt's Avatar

    I don't follow - it sounds like when the export window loads for you, it's scrolled all the way to the bottom, instead of being at the top where the check/uncheck all box is? And it also sounds like you're exporting one line at a time rather than all 10-20 lines in a single pass? Is that correct?

  6. 4 Posted by Teresa Gergen on 09 Nov, 2016 06:09 PM

    Teresa Gergen's Avatar

    The first time in a session when I open the export window, it's at the top, and I can uncheck the Check/Uncheck All box, then scroll down, and select the single line I want to export. Then when I want to export a second single line, the export window comes up scrolled down to the same location where I had scrolled down to the first time I exported - which is perfect and very convenient, except that all the boxes come up checked, so that I have to scroll up to the top to uncheck the Check/Uncheck All box again, then scroll down and find my place in the green highlighted section of lines again to export the second line. Repeat this 10-20 times, and it's just a bit tiresome.

    I export each line separately because I have had random but frequent trouble if I export all of the lines I'm currently wanting to download to my GPS (Garmin eTrex 20) together in one .gpx file, once it's in my GPS. There are likely to be numerous .gpx files representing routes/tracks from all over the country in my GPS at any time, since that's what I do, travel around all the time climbing peaks. I delete the routes/tracks from the GPS as I finish with them, one at a time, to keep the GPS cleaned up. Garmin appears to go into the single .gpx file and edit out the route or track from within in, when I tell it to delete a route/track. I don't know if Garmin sometimes gets this wrong or what, but it often leaves the remains of the .gpx file corrupted, so that when I go to follow another route/track from within the single GPS file, it won't be able to use it and the GPS just hangs. Sometimes it hangs so badly that it won't even power off, and I have to take the batteries out of the unit and put them back in. The behavior is random and it's on Garmin's side, I think, not caltopo's. It's been a safer procedure to just have every line be a separate .gpx file that I can use and delete as I go. When I'm camping every night and away from internet and turn on the GPS in the morning and find that a file is now corrupted, I'm up shit creek.

    The lines that I put on a single caltopo map come from all different sources. Sometimes I draw them on caltopo myself, as routes or tracks, depending on their length. Sometimes I draw them in Google Earth because I need to use the Historical Imagery there to see the terrain without snow when the current satellite imagery, which is what's available on caltopo, has too much snow in an area to be useful. In that case I'm exporting a .kml file from Earth, and importing it to caltopo, then downloading it as a .gpx file to my GPS. Sometimes I get tracks off the internet from any number of sources and import them into caltopo. Often I split, extend, or edit those tracks once they're in caltopo before exporting them as .gpx files to my GPS. So I have no idea if the randomness of the .gpx files getting corrupted once they're on the GPS is due to how the routes/tracks were created or what. All I know is if I use single routes/tracks per .gpx file, I don't have any surprises when I'm out in the field.

    ________________________________

  7. Support Staff 5 Posted by matt on 09 Nov, 2016 06:21 PM

    matt's Avatar

    Got it, that's a slightly different use case than I was thinking of. Sounds like it doesn't really need to be preserved across page loads, just within the same visit.

  8. 6 Posted by Teresa Gergen on 09 Nov, 2016 06:54 PM

    Teresa Gergen's Avatar

    Yes, I think that would work -- then I'd just have to uncheck the Check/Uncheck box once at the start of an exporting session, which is certainly reasonable if that's what's easiest to implement.

    ________________________________

  9. 7 Posted by Teresa Gergen on 16 Nov, 2016 11:34 PM

    Teresa Gergen's Avatar

    Thanks, this is working great! I appreciate both changes.

  10. matt closed this discussion on 19 Nov, 2016 05:56 AM.

Comments are currently closed for this discussion. You can start a new one.

Keyboard shortcuts

Generic

? Show this help
ESC Blurs the current field

Comment Form

r Focus the comment reply box
^ + ↩ Submit the comment

You can use Command ⌘ instead of Control ^ on Mac