Base Layer Alignment - Part 2

Jimmie

26 Oct, 2020 06:11 PM

I am going to try this again because the topic was closed for some reason, but there was no clear answer given. In addition, I am a PAID Pro User.

Here is my original inquiry:
https://help.caltopo.com/discussions/bugs/5145-base-layer-alignment

I read the information in the help link provided but it does not help me in fixing my map. How do I fix this alignment issue? Is there a way to simply drag my copied trail left or right and re-align it on the base map? The water feature on my map is a key location and not having it line up correctly is not an option. How do i correct this?

Thanks,

1. 1 Posted by Jimmie on 26 Oct, 2020 06:12 PM

The maps again if you would like to re-examine.

2. Support Staff 2 Posted by Julie on 26 Oct, 2020 07:32 PM

Jimmie,

You can re-open a discussion at any time by replying to it again.

I assume that you took a GPS track of your trail in order to draw that on the map. Unfortunately, give the terrain (with the bluff to the immediate west) and tree cover in that location, it is much more likely that your track is off by ~50 feet to the east, and it just happens to match better with the less accurate scanned topo layer than with the more current USGS hydro data used in created the MapBuilder Topo, TF Outdoors, Google maps, Open Street Map, and more. We have an additional article about GPS accuracy here.