Can't add marker while recording track and can't see contours when zoomed in (Android app)

scott.danieln

28 Apr, 2020 01:37 PM

I was using the CalTopo app on Android (8.0.0, Samsung Galaxy S7) last weekend recording a track. I was unable to place markers while recording a track. I could add them and name them, but then when I hit "OK", they'd just disappear. My track actually did the same thing when I finished it (just disappeared). I restarted the app, it asked me if I would like to recover my track, I said yes, and my track and waypoints all suddenly appeared. I would have expected the track and waypoints to save and display as soon as I confirmed their creation. For reference, I was saving these to the map and my account (I have a pro subscription), and was using my phone in airplane mode with offline map layers.

Also, I have contours downloaded for offline use, but they only display when I'm zoomed pretty far out on the map. When I zoom in, they disappear. Is there any way to change the display scale in the app?

1. Support Staff 1 Posted by rmarcucci on 28 Apr, 2020 01:57 PM

Hi Scott,

2 quick questions before I pass this off for debugging:
    What version # of the app do you have installed?
    Were you involved in the early beta testing? I ask because some folks who had a very early version of the app installed have had issues as the updates progressed and need to do a complete uninstall/reinstall. If not, don't worry about that as it wouldn't apply to you.

Thank you,
    Rom

2. 2 Posted by scott.danieln on 28 Apr, 2020 01:59 PM

Hi Rom,

Thank you for the quick reply! I am using app version 0.5.2. As far as I know, I'm not part of the early beta testing (I downloaded the app a few weeks ago).

Thanks for looking into this! I'm really liking the app and online interface so far and I can't wait for it to be fleshed out and fully functioning.

Dan

3. Support Staff 3 Posted by rmarcucci on 28 Apr, 2020 02:03 PM

Dan,